Living Water Awards

NAWC members are dedicated professionals, innovative thinkers, inspiring leaders and engaged environmentalists. NAWC’s Living Water Awards honor the contributions of these exceptional individuals who display commitment to company, colleagues, community and the environment.

Living Water Award recipients represent the best of the regulated water industry, specifically employees at NAWC member companies for work done well beyond their current job responsibilities. Some examples may include:

  • Step up in a time of crisis or in an emergency
  • Elevate environmental stewardship or community commitment
  • Advance industry innovation that benefits customers

Nominate a colleague for the Living Water Award today by using the form below. Semi-finalists will be selected in September and will receive recognition leading up to the Summit and the 2021 NAWC Living Water Award winner will be announced at the Water Summit in Chicago, IL.

NAEC Living Water Awards

Living Water Awards

  • Your Information

  • Nominee Information

  • Max. file size: 256 MB.
  • Max. file size: 256 MB.
  • Max. file size: 256 MB.
  • Please note your submission may take a few seconds to process. Only click the submit button once.

Meet Dan Hingley, Winner of the 2020 NAWC Living Water Award.

The National Association of Water Companies (NAWC) is pleased to announce Aqua Virginia’s Operations Manager Daniel Hingley as the winner of the 2020 NAWC Living Water Awards. The announcement was made in October during the 2020 NAWC Virtual Water Summit.

“Dan’s innovative engineering feats serve as a perfect example of what the Living Water Award is all about,” said NAWC President and CEO Robert Powelson. “We seek to honor individuals who not only provide their communities with safe and reliable water and wastewater services, but also work hard to build more efficient and affordable practices into everyday operations.”

Dan was nominated by his colleagues for his demonstrated commitment to improving the Aqua customer experience through engineering smart, sustainable, and cost-saving solutions while overseeing vital upgrades to the Lake Monticello, Virginia wastewater treatment plant. Aqua wanted to improve the quality of the plant’s treated wastewater and minimize future rate increases for customers by reducing operating expenses and deferring the need for a more costly plant overhaul.

Dan modified the existing process and reconfigured the layout of the plant. He designed new aeration system controls to optimize treatment and ultimately implemented a solution to improve service, protect local waterways, and operate more efficiently for the community.

“Dan is an outstanding leader for Aqua Virginia and Essential Utilities,” said Aqua Virginia President John J. Aulbach II, PE “Dan’s ingenious in-house engineering design of the Lake Monticello wastewater treatment plant aeration improvements reduced Aqua’s dependency on nutrient credit purchases and reduced energy consumption, which results in lower expenses.”

Hingley is the eighth recipient of the Living Water Award. Past recipients include California Water Service Group’s George Barber (2019), Indiana American Water’s  Angelita Fasnacht (2018), Katherine Jamriska (2017); California Water Service’s Chris Whitley (2016); SUEZ North America’s Elizabeth Watson Keddy (2015); CH2M Hill’s Duyen Tran (2014); and Connecticut Water’s Steve Melanson (2013).

2020 NAWC Living Water Award Winner

Dan Hingley
Aqua Virginia

Nominations must be made by an employee of an NAWC member companies and nominees must also be employed by an NAWC member company. Nominations are submitted by completing a simple online form available on the NAWC Website.